Life Is Strange: True Colors – Our Game Review

Reviews Game Reviews

Life Is Strange: True Colors is the fifth instalment into the graphic adventure series.
It is also one of the first to release as a full game instead of episodically which most of the previous entries had done prior to then getting a full release too.
Though the game is a full release, it does contain various different chapters, of which there are a total of 5 chapters altogether. Speaking of the various chapters, most of them are rather linear and for the most part all take part in one single location.

As far as the story is concerned, players take the role of young Asian-American woman Alex Chen, who after a troubled upbringing, sees her life finally picking up as she now gets the opportunity to reunite with her brother Gabe after 8 long years of being apart. However, it does not take long until life turns to complete chaos once again. It is this chaos that the story is focused around.
As mentioned before a lot of the game mainly revolves around one single location, that being the mountain town of Hot Springs, so get used to seeing it.
Thankfully it seems like a nice place to be part of, with friendly neighbours and nearby wilderness. Though, with that said the town is not without its secrets, one in which we need to solve.
Its a good thing that Alex Chen isn’t exactly your typical young woman, as she comes equipped with her empathy ability which can read people’s emotions, this will of course come in handy.
Also, despite being part of the Life Is Strange series, it does not include any of the past characters and it does not continue the story. Instead Life is Strange: True Colors is very much its own game.

The game also contains various hidden collectibles and even completely missable side quests too. It would of been nice if these missable side quests could of been marked somehow. Instead we have no real indication that the characters that we come across even have errands for us to complete, the game doesn’t even tell us about them. Some of these quests are really vague too, often the requests don’t even activate as a quest and fails to give us any hint. Usually it isn’t until you have completed the chapter when you realise that this specific character needed our help after all.

The game, as with most of the Life is Strange titles, comes with a ton of replayability value. With alternative choices and endings, though none of these choices give us any optional story branching and ultimately the story all comes down to the same conclusion.


The game is okay, it is not worth the full retail price. Instead I would highly recommend you wait until it gets much cheaper and wait for a sale. The chapters are really short, the game can also be considered as being rather basic and there is not that many optional activities to complete.
I enjoyed playing around with the empathy ability and getting to know the various characters that I came across a bit more, but outside of the story there is not much use to it.

Comparing this title to other titles in the series, it doesn’t really offer anything new apart from the missed opportunities with the side quests, of which, as said before, there is not many in the game and they fail to trigger as actual quests.

The story is okay but it relies a lot on us having to care for a character that only appears briefly, so it was difficult to have any real attachment to them. So it just felt like a run down generic story. Had the game built up this character a bit more, gave us an actual reason to like them then maybe things would be different.

  • Developer: Deck Nine
  • Publisher: Square Enix
    Release Date: September 10th, 2021
    Platforms: PC, Playstation 4, Playstation 5, XBox One, Xbox Series X/S, Stadia
    Genre: Graphic Adventure
    Main Story Length: 10-14 Hours
    Platinum Trophy Length: 12-16 Hours
    Platform Reviewed On: PC
  • Overall Rating: 3/5


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *